Chapter 5 ~ A Purpose for the Pain

“God is all-powerful and all-knowing. He is good, merciful, gracious, and sovereign. And if he has  a plan, I want in on it.” ~Jo Ann Fore (pg. 102)

Pain. We’ve all felt it. Perhaps maybe some more than others. It’s easy to get caught up in the “Why’s” of life, but Jo Ann asked a very good question about our pain….

“What if instead of asking “Why?”, we starting asking “What’s next?”. This question alone has the potential to change our lives.” (pg. 89)

I will never be able to explain certain things. It’s hard to imagine sometimes the things we go through or the pain we endure are for good. And in the middle of grief, sorrow, pain, broken hearts, and tears the word “good” rarely comes to mind. However, this chapter created a new way for us to look at life and pain. What IF the pain we’ve endured REALLY does have some good? Our lives can take on a whole new meaning if we surrender our hurt and our pain the Lord.

I’ve been listening to this song A LOT the past few weeks. Now I can just close my eyes and sing along. (Yes, God did say “make a joyful noise”!) By listening to the words and really letting them wash over me, I’ve been able to just close my eyes and let some things go. “So let it go my soul and rest in Him. The waves and wind still know his name….”

Take a few minutes to listen. I want to encourage you to close your eyes and just listen. But be ready to hit “play” again!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chapter 5 ~ A Purpose for the Pain

  1. brenda says:

    Lisa, Thank you for sharing the song. It is so calming to just listen. I am behind on my study but enjoying it very much. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

