Chapter 4~That Still Small Voice

“If you want to find your voice, you need to hear the voice of God.”

~Mark Batterson

The voice of God…have you heard it? I suppose we all have our own idea of how we think God’s voice sounds. I hear it in many ways. The laughter of my children, the “I love you’s” from my husband, and the soft nickers of my horses. I’ve learned lately that God speaks to us in so many ways. The words of a friend, or in the words of a song I just happened to turn on in the truck on my way somewhere. Just yesterday, I heard him in the words of a total stranger.


trailer 1

I was sitting in my truck today outside Wendy’s yesterday finishing a phone conversation when a woman came and knocked on my window. She had taken a picture of the ramp on my horse trailer and wanted to make sure it was ok. I told her that of course it was! She went on to share with me how a tough anniversary was coming up for her this weekend, Oct 5th. She had been the wife to a Vietnam soldier and she explained how she lost him to a bottle of scotch. She shared with me her story and explained how horses had saved her. She thanked me for being there at that moment and she knew God had His hand in it. She thanked me for the words and the encouragement it brought her. She continued to share with me some other things, then looked me right in the eyes and said, “Don’t you ever doubt that God has His hand on you. You are encouraging others and making a difference in their lives.”  I reached out and hugged her, my eyes spilling tears. I don’t know her name. I have no idea where she came from, or where she went, but I DO know that her words mean more to me than she may ever know. The ramp on my trailer may have encouraged her, but let me assure you, the words she shared with me were heaven-sent.

ramp

 

I really can’t put into words what all this beautiful woman said to me. Her eyes made such a sincere contact with mine, and she didn’t even know me. It was like while she was talking, time stood still and only she and I were there.

“On this journey to find our own voice, we must first hear his.” ~Jo Ann Fore

Starting on page 73, Jo Ann listed the ways in which we can hear God.

1. God speaks through his Word. (Josh. 1:8; Ps. 119)

2. God speaks through others. (And I can vouch for this one!) (Esp. 4:12; 1 Cor. 12:27

3. God speaks through prayer (Jer. 33:3; Matt. 21:22)

4. God speaks through circumstances (Rom. 8:28)

5. God speaks through the Words of his Son (Heb. 1:1-2; John 1:14-18)

6. God speaks through sneak previews (Rom. 1:20; Ps. 19:1-4)

 

Do you feel like God has spoken to you? In the comment section below, tell me how has that experience helped you find your voice.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

