Welcome!

Good afternoon! THANK YOU for taking time to be part of my online biblestudy. I’m humbled that you have choosen to spend your time with me. I know there are so many things that women have to do, so I’m honored you are here. Please know that I am praying for you and am excited to see what God has in store for us!

voice 2Today is our “first” session here. I know a few of you just received your books, so for all of us, the assignment this week is to read the Introduction and to read Chapter One. Please use a highlighter on whatever words stand out to you this week. I would also like to encourage you to use a journel and write down things that come to your mind as we go. Writing (wether you feel like your “good” at it or not) can be very healing. We are all on a journey with God, and while we are all at different places, we are all here because the title of this book When A Woman Finds Her Voice made our hearts skip-a-beat. Something about “Overcoming Life’s Hurts & Using Your Story to Make a Difference” compelled us to go to Amazon.com and buy this book! 😉  And even more so, somehow you found this study. I believe that was “something” was God.

Please know that what makes this opportunity so special is that we have the ability to comment and ask questions, etc. at the end of each post! PLEASE leave comments each Wednesday!

To get started this week, I’d like for you to tell me where you’re from (city and state-or at least state-maybe even country if you’re outside the US!) and why you decided to join this study! Let’s take a little time and get to know each other! I’ll go first….

My name is Lisa. I am a wife (19 yrs), a mother of 4 children, and a lover of horses. I am IMG_3625the Founder of Reins For Renewal-an equine based program that helps women with their horses, and a lover of my Savior-Jesus. I turned 40 this year, and I have to say it’s been harder on me than I care to admit. I’m in the process of working through some deep hurt, but am excited about the journey we are on here together.

 

So here we go!

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Welcome!

  1. I live in Emporia, Ks. I am 59. Mother of 2 beautiful daughters, Mandy and Emily, now adults. Married 27 years to my husband Gary. I LOVE the LORD my GOD who saved me by HIS grace. I LOVE horses, all horses, any kind of horses and have since I was a small girl. We have 7 mares. Some we raised, some we rescued. I believe GOD led me to this study becasue I found it quit by accident. Looking forward to healing of old deep hurts. But scared too.

  2. Sally says:

    My name is Sally and I recently moved to New Mexico. I am 53 years old and have his/hers children whom I love very much. My grandchildren are my world and I don’t get to see them enough. I too stumbled upon this site on fb and feel like it was meant to be for me because I’m going through some hurtful challenges with my family but most important I’m needing to reconnect with my spiritual side and find that place of peace and happiness…

  3. Jacke Kent says:

    Hello, my name is Jackie and I live on a small hobby farm in Ks. I just turned 50, been married for 25 years and have an awesome son. I have always been horse crazy and very blessed to be able to own 3 beautiful horses. I can’t really say that I am hurting even though in my child hood and through out my adult hood I have experienced it. Maybe that’s why God handed me this opportunity to bring up old hurts and be freed from them. I am excited to see where this will take me and what God has in store for me. GOD IS SO GOOD!!!

  4. brenda says:

    Hello, my name is Brenda I live in small town south of wichita ks. I am 52, love horses and love the Lord. I met Lisa a couple years ago at Equifest. Love her spirit and using horses to talk about the Lord and how some of the same principles can apply to both. I have been blessed, I do not have any deep hurts although we all have been hurt & disappointed, sometimes from the people we love the most. I decided to join the bible study because I did one in the past and enjoyed it. I have no doubt there will be something the Lord wants to know and learn. I am always learning and amazed at the way or the people he uses in my life to speak. Looking forward to it.

  5. Marie says:

    Good Morning, my name is Marie I live in Oshkosh, WI, I am 47 and have 3 children 26, 25 & 18 and they all will be a year older next month. My love of horse’s started at the age of 4 when someone owed my Dad some money and he came home with an unbroke welch pony and tack. My dad lead me around on that pony and that is where it all started and hasn’t stopped only has gotten stronger. I wish I had the courage I did when I was younger to ride without fear and I pray that over time I can build that courage back up with my horse Oakie. My 2 youngest children are very much into horses as well and horse’s have been their for us all through some really ugly times in our life over the past years. I find healing in spending time with horses and I know that this is one of the ways God has reached out to me and my children providing us with comfort and hope. Back in 2013 I seen something come up with Lisa & Reins for Renewal and seen how she is sharing her faith with horses. I have been watching what God is doing through Lisa and it was one of the reasons I started up a business called Cross Wind Riding – It’s more than just a ride! I share my horse Oakie with girls/kids/adults giving them an opportunity to be around a horse and sometimes even get their first ride. Earlier this spring I was blessed to be able to give a lady her last ride before she passed away from cancer just a few days after spending time with Oakie and I know this was an appointment set by God. I’m looking forward to this study to help me to identify hurts I have and to learn how to share my story with others, to give them hope and help them see how our Father God is the Almighty Comforter and to know we are never alone that God is always by our side. Looking forward to also working to get Lisa booked for a clinic here in Oshkosh to help teach and share with the ladies that God feels needs to hear her message. God Bless each of you and looking forward to the study! Hugs from Marie & Oakie

  6. Kay says:

    Hi my name is Kay. I live in a small town outside of Lebanon,Mo. I’m 54. I wish I could say I did not have any deep hurts in my life but , but I cannot. I lost a daughter to cancer 7 years ago, I’ve been through a divorce, my youngest daughter has been addicted to meth and many other drugs, however I love horses and always have ever since I can remember. I love my Jesus with all of my heart…without him I have no doubt that I would not be here today! I am remarried to a wonderful man. I have learn much from my hurts and still have much to learn from them. I still struggle with anger due to family dis functions but I am trusting God to see me through and keep perfecting and teaching me. I believe my horse is a gift from God. I have had him for 18 years and we both have had many adventures together riding in Gods great trails<3 I am looking forward to being closer then ever to my God and I so long for fellowship of other christian women.

  7. dbarrow99 says:

    Hi my name is Denise I live in the small town of Cedar Fort, UT. I have been happily married to the love of my life for 17hrs and we have a beautiful sometimes challenging teenage girl. Horses are my passion and my sanity, I truly believe god places them in my life to help me learn and grow. I’m excited to study this book with all you lovely ladies and learn and grow together.

  8. Bobbie Smith says:

    Hi my name is Bobbie, I’m like many in this study group have a huge passion for horses at 62 I’m working on my last two 3 year olds to get under saddle and they are good and forgiving babies thus far. I also have a Cairn terrier that I got to start doing obedience trials, thinking that would get me to a safer activity and competition. Well I’m hooked on dog training and now doing both! Lisa and all when I first saw the topic I thought dang i don’t have any inner wounds, so I was initially thinking this might not be a good fit for me. But as I started reading I realized yes I do. I’m also the primary care giver for my 82 yo mom with dementia, who can be less than pleasant sometimes. I started reflecting on our relationship… not the best when I was young, I had 2 brothers who seemed to be the apples of her eye. She always struggled with depression and I was less than tolerate of than emotional roller coaster she put our family on. So in retrospect this topic and this study will be a perfect fit for me. Lisa thank you for your time and your ministry. You are a special lady to share yourself so eagerly with us from afar. love and hugs to all!!

    • Welcome Bobbie! It’s amazing how God puts opportunity in front of us when He wants to deal with us! I am excited to work through this book with you all and will be praying for you! Thanks for joining us!

  9. Jackie Walsh says:

    Hi! I’m Jackie Walsh. I just decided this morning to join the bible study. I downloaded the book on my iPad, now just trying to get caught up! I am 39 yrs old. I have a wonderful, but very complicated husband. ( I have a whole testimony about my relationship with my husband and how we overcame the abuse he tormented me with) I have 3 beautiful children and am blessed with a horse obsession! I do daycare in my home and am also a co-founder of a youth ministry called Faith Rocks. We teach children about God by using horses. This all happens at my home! I love that God blessed me with the ability to use my obsession with horses to spread His word!

  10. Anne says:

    Hi. I’m Anne. I live in Columbus, Ohio. I stumbled on this blog through a “friend” on FB from the barn and was so curious to see what’s going on because she is so hostile to Christianity! I looked further and thought this could be an awesome way to grow closer to God while I’m having down time at work instead of wasting my time – and to bring up the connection with the hostile friend at the barn! I have many hurts from childhood abuse but horses have always seemed to be there for healing. I am divorced and have been remarried now for 8 years. I have two amazing and gifted children, 18 and 20 who are in college but not walking with the Lord. I am struggling with being an empty nester but am so excited to see what God has in store for me now. Thank you for this opportunity. I’ve downloaded the book to my Kindle and will try to catch up’!

    • Thank you for joining us! I’m excited you are here! I hope you enjoy our study. Horses are amazing and I’m so blessed to have had the opportunity to have horses help me carry my burdens. God really blessed us the day he created the horse!

Leave a Reply

