Chapter 14~ Seven Messages From the Cross

It’s taken me some time to post today, because the words are few. Once again, I’ve heard about and read the story of the cruxification over and over. While it’s very real to me, once again, Jonathan points out so much more.

cross

The words that fell from the lips of Jesus while he hung on a cross….

Statement #1: “Father, forgive them for they do not know what they do.”
Luke 23:34

Statement #2: “Today you will be with Me in Paradise.” Luke 23:43

Statement #3: “Woman, behold your son! Behold your Mother.” John 19:26-27

Statement #4: “My God, My God, why have you forsaken me?” Matthew 27:46

Statement #5: “I thirst.” John 19:28

Statement #6: “It is finished.” John 19:30

Statement #7: “Father, into your hands I commit My spirit.”

The statements that fell from his lips while hanging nailed to a tree, speaks assurance into our lives today. He speaks forgiveness, compassion, caring, and commitment. He touches our humanity and pronounces victory over sin and forever security.  (pg. 176) Can you hear him? Do these words echo in your mind and heart today?

It is my prayer today that we become still and close our eyes-if for only a few minutes-and listen to his words…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

