Chapter 7~The Jails of Hypcrisy

masksI have NO idea why this didn’t post on Thursday! I was having trouble with the form….sorry about that!

I was awake this morning at 3:30 a.m. My mind was wrestling with events of the day and decisions I need to make. Since I was up so early and struggling a bit, I picked up our book off the night stand and read the chapter for today. And then I couldn’t go back to sleep….

As I laid awake thinking of what I’d read, I thought of myself during Jr. High and High School. I always enjoyed drama classes and was chosen for more than one lead part in our school plays. I began to wonder, however, how many times in life I’ve played the part of someone other than myself. I’m sure we’ve all been there. But the way Jonathan writes about Jesus and hypcrisy, it really makes one stand at attention. I began to think of times I wish I’d shared the light that was on the inside and times when I’d fallen to the five ways Hypocrisy Brings on the Worst Kinds of Woe. (pg. 80)

Hypocrite comes from the Greek word hupocrites, which means “given to the idea of an actor on a stage,” actors who would wear a mask, use a script, and act out something totally different from whom they really are. (pg. 73)

How many times have we put on masks to cover our pain? How often do we put on a mask to cover shame, guilt, or insecurity? How many times have we allowed ourselves to become someone we aren’t to satisfy those around us? Hypcrisy seems to be a way of life this day and age, but God is calling us out of a life covered in masks! Jesus was REAL! 100% real. If are striving to become more like him, then we must become more authentic, more honest, more real. We must walk in his light and leave the masks behind.

Today I’d like to encourage you to open your book to page 80 and re-read the five ways Hyposcisy Brings on Worst Kinds of Woe and then anwer the questions on page 83. Be real with yourself-no matter how painful. Get a journal and write your answers out so that you can reflect on them later.

In the comment section below, I’d love to hear how this chapter made you think and feel!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

