An Attitude of Gratitude…

womanI wonder how many days I’ve walked through, been a wake, but not fully. I wonder how many times I’ve been given an opportunity to be thankful and missed it because I was in a hurry for …the next thing. Today I sit and type with a heart full of gratitude and am thankful for so many things. Things that aren’t really things, but are called that. Today, I’m thankful for Love…an undying love from a Father above, and from a husband I know God gave me. Thankful today for the laughter of my children, their bright eyes, and smiles. Today I’m so thankful for the very imperfect life I’ve been given and that I have an opporutunity to see God work daily. The smell of my horses, the view of my barn, and the sun shining bright burned in my mind this morning and reminded me that I am blessed. Today…I’m learning to just be thankful…

I was blessed a couple of years ago to attend a conference for Christian Speaks called She Speaks. It’s put on by Proverbs 31 Ministries. While at the conference I sat in the mass of 800 other women and listened to the most beautiful soul speak I’ve ever heard. Her name was Ann. Ann Voskamp. She’s from Canada. Ann is married to a farmer and has 6 children. She comes from a very wounded past and shares it in her book “One Thousand Gifts”. I bought the book and read it. And I forgot it. Well, ok, I didn’t actually forget about it, but I’ve ceased to practice what I learned in that book. Not because I wanted to, but because I allowed my life to move too fast. I ceased to write in my journal because I didn’t have time…

Ann, though broken by events in her life, shares about how she learned to live again. Her beautiful book is about how she learned to live in the moment and accept God’s grace. Daily. She started by keeping a Gratitude Journal. Ann began listing all the things she was thankful for and it changed her life. By being thankful, perspective changes. When we stop and recognize all the beauty around us and all that God’s given, it’s life changing.

Please take time to listen & watch here: This will make your day!

http://youtu.be/GhOUaszMGvQ

Challenge:

Today I’d like for you to:

1.) Begin a Gratitude Journal. Take time each day and write down the things you are thankful for.

2.) Say “Thank you” to your spouse. Say it to a cashier or a person in your work place. Say “Thank you” to God for every moment that’s been given to you and for this opportunity to slow down and savor.

3.) Begin to be thankful all the moments in life that slow you down. Use those moments to appreciate what you miss.

As you work through the Challenge today, I want to encourage you to really think and feel with Gratitude.

In this 5 Day Challenge to slow down and live in the moment, I’ve learned so  much. It is my hope that you too, have gleaned some goodness and are able to take some time and think about all I’ve presented to you. However, today’s Challenge just may be my favorite.

In the comment section below, I’d love to hear some of the things you are Thankful for today!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to An Attitude of Gratitude…

  1. a694 says:

    I love this!

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. Cynthia vonKampen says:

    I am thankful for all the wonderful things in my life – one in particular is my new handsome black quarter horse – who I love to brush and I forget all my troubles and stress and solely focus on his sleek and shiny coat! PS. He’s thankful for all the brushing to get at all those itchy spots!!

  3. Jodie harmon says:

    I am thankful for my life! I have two awesome kids that share my love for animals, and we have all the animals we ever want thanks to my hubby’s awesome job… I am grateful for these blessings as well! ;0)

Leave a Reply

