Chapter 6~If It Were Easy, It Wouldn’t Be Worth Doing

blog pic 100I’ve uttered those words more than once. Probably more than once in the last week….last 24 hours….maybe just this morning. “I can’t”. They seem to be words that come to my mouth when I’m feeling overwhelmed, un-loved, put on the spot, or tired. They also come out of my mouth when I’m not sure about what I’m being asked to do, or think. I often utter those words when God is asking me to get out of my comfort zone and do something I do not feel is possible. (like talking to a large group of high school girls!) But I’ve also learned those words bring trust….dependence…..purpose….drive. And if I can utter the words, “I can-with your help, Lord”, I find that whatever is being asked is suddenly not such a big deal.

“I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength.” Philippians 4:16

If you found this blog because you’ve followed my website or Facebook page, then you know I’m a horse crazy girl! I will assume that maybe you’re here because you are horse crazy as well. It’s amazing how difficult owning, riding, and training horses can be. It takes sacrifice (financially), dedication, drive, determination, and on going education. Owning horses has taught me many things, among them is the fact that “if were easy, it wouldn’t be worth doing.” Having a relationship with a horse requires time. Much like our relationship with God. When we desire to have a relationship with our horse, suddenly we notice things about them. What they like, what they don’t like. We learn what triggers certain behaviors and how their personality plays into how they learn and what they need from us. They suddenly require us to become so perceptive when we are in their presence that we discover we have a “sixth sense” when we are with them. God is no different. When we choose to say “Yes” and embellish our lives with his presence, we began to see him everywhere and in everything we do. We become so aware of his presence that we know he’s real. I know there are days he doesn’t feel close and we struggle to see him. However, maybe those are the days he’s asking us to press in a little more…spend a little more time, pray a little longer. He PROMISED he’d never leave us or forsake us, so we have to KNOW (have faith) he’s there. We may not always understand his plan, but it’s up to us to have faith that his good and perfect plan will come to pass. During those times it can be hard to say “Yes”, but I think that during those times our trust deepens and our faith builds.

We often say that life with our horses is a journey. So is a relationship with God. We won’t always make the right decision. We won’t always say the right thing. But he is forever there to help us stay on the correct path.

“Enter through the narrow gate. For wide is the gate and broad is the road that leads to destruction, and many enter through it. But small is the gate and narrow the road that leads to life, and only a few find it.”~Matthew 7:13-14

Today I want to encourage you. Life may not always be easy. Saying “Yes” WILL NOT always be easy. But let me assure you, from experience, that it’s worth it. Saying “Yes” to God will take you places you never thought were possible. I promise.

At the end of the chapter, Lysa writes, “The more you experience God, the more you expect to see and hear from Him everyday. Obedience stops being a dutiful obligation and starts becoming a delight you crave. When a woman says yes to God, she discovers a thrilling way to live.”

What did this chapter speak to you? Are you struggling to know that saying “Yes” is worth it?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chapter 6~If It Were Easy, It Wouldn’t Be Worth Doing

  1. Karen Eklund ;) says:

    I have especially been trying to hear God, trust Him and do what He asks by saying “yes” over the last couple of weeks.

    Every year I struggle to get my horses out on our brome pasture. I put them out on the pasture for 30 minutes, then 1 hour the next day, and keep increasing the time so they can tolerate the grass. For the last several years, my horses have their nostrils flaring and are panting after a few hours on the grass. Because of this reaction, they have had limited turn out and had to be in a large dry lot. I had worked my horses up to about 6-8 hours of turn out last week when I felt the impression to leave my horses out on the pasture all night after they had already been out all day. I was absolutely sure I was nuts feeling such a thing. I really wanted to be obedient IF it were God I was hearing. My error in judgement could make my horses really sick, so I came inside, prayed and read my bible study on page 108. What do I see?? Psalm 37:3-4 “Trust in the LORD and do good; dwell in the land and enjoy SAFE PASTURE. Delight yourself in the LORD and he will give you the desires of your heart.” I could hardly believe what I was reading! I left my horses out all night – and I’d love to say I didn’t look at them until morning. The truth is, I walked out in my pj’s at 1 am and 4am. At 4 am they were in the dry lot sleeping. They were ABSOLUTELY FINE! They have been out on the pasture now for 8 days straight.

    Something that excites me so much is that God would care about me enough to give me a scripture that was exactly what I needed to hear in order to be obedient to him.

    I am learning to say YES to God day by day, but also failing at it many times. I had my fun week-end activities arranged in my head, then plans changed. It was then that I remembered that I needed to look at those changed plans as an opportunity to say Yes to God. God can use any activity or circumstance for his glory and for his good – even if we don’t see it. I hope I enhance his plans and don’t hinder them.

    • Karen-thanks so much for sharing! Your words are wise. Isn’t God awesome? Safe pastures….I will be thinking of this throughout the week. He’s so gentle in his ways. Love your words! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

