Chapter 3~When Obedience Becomes Radical

downtown bozemanMSU photo by Kelly Gorham.My trip to Montana surpassed my expectations. I was in absolute awe of the view and the kindness of the people. Thank you so much for your prayers!

During the clinic I reminded the riders that having horses was like having children. “We have to be their parent before we can be their friend”, I reminded them. A relationship with a horse (like our children) is based on respect and mutal understanding. All women want to have a mushy, sweet relationship with their horse, but most struggle in requiring the respect that’s needed from their horse for that kind of a relationship. Our relationship with God isn’t really any different. (downtown bozeman MSU photo by Kelly Gorham.)

When I think about my relationship with my horse, I am reminded that without his obedience, our rides would go his way and we may end up in a place we shouldn’t be in. Just like my relationship with God. If I fail to be obedient to God and do my own thing all the time, I ususally find myself in a mess! A place in my life I probably shouldn’t be! Now, like my horse, I do let him have his way at times only to show him that if he would have followed my lead, there probably would have been much less work for him. God is no different! He gives us free choice! We can do what we want, but I think often we find ourselves coming around to his way. His way may not always be easy, but it’s always better than our way. If I let my horse have his way all day every day, he would miss out on what he can become. So will we.

I had to laugh when Lysa talked about selling her house. As my husband and I drove out of Montana, I murmered a prayer, “Lord, if you want us here, I’ll come!”  This chapter really made me think about how I would react if he asked me to go somewhere other than Montana though.

Montana 1

Being obedient isn’t easy. However, I’m sure that as we continue to learn to say “YES” to God, it will become a second nature. I’ve always told God I’d go where he wanted me to go, and I’d say whatever he wanted me to say. I’m sincere in that desire and continue to pray that way. I can’t wait to see where God will call me to go, and what he will have me to say. It’s not always easy, but I’ve been blessed each time I’ve spoken his words.

“We need not fear what our obedience will cause to happen in our life. We should only fear what our disobience will cause us to miss.”

In the comment section below, tell me what areas of your life you feel God calling you to be more obedient in. Is there more than one? How did this chapter help you?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Chapter 3~When Obedience Becomes Radical

  1. Rochelle says:

    This chapter made me laugh. First, this is probably why I don’t hear Him. I think I know what I need to do, but don’t want to do it, so I am frantically looking for another option. Second, it is so easy to not think about what disobedience will cause me to me to miss when I am wrapped up in my material happiness or hanging on tight while it is inevitable that it must go. It is in front of me making me happy in the moment, so who cares what I am going to miss, right?! BOO HOO. Sad realization when I have to be honest that I am trying to control everything.
    That said, finances always seem to be a stress in family life and that is what I am dealing with now. I have a 5 month old baby that I cannot and chose to not put in daycare as I already pay for my 2 1/2 year old to go to daycare. My oldest is able to go to preschool and I found this Montessori school that is faith-based that I chose for him to go to. It is on the other side of town causing a bit more of gas expense plus I will have to drop my little guy off at a daycare by the time preschool begins. I feel like the only way my oldest will be exposed to religion is by going to this school as my husband is not religious to say the least and wouldn’t really want him to go to a religious school either. I am hanging on to making it work for us financially while trying to finish my Bachelors, work my part time job (who has graciously allowed me to tote baby there) and keep my horse (another item my husband wants me to sell to help our finances). I half-as*ed trying to sell my gelding as I felt he has been so good for my soul. With our finances depleting further and the stress pushing our relationship and my husband’s sanity, I have offered to pick up coffee shop or serving type work on the weekends if he would watch kiddos. He is not in a place to commit to that, so I have to give in another area. I started more actively advertising my gelding. I guess my point is that while I don’t know how God wants me to approach how to help our financial situation, I am trying to give up control and let Him decide if my horse has to go or if I cannot pursue the school for my son this year. He will only be 3 and there are plenty of opportunities to go to school or other faith exposure options i.e. VBS, etc. Horses will always be for sale. I can get a different one at a later time. So, I am working on letting go and putting in all my effort to listen and do my part and let Him do the rest. I also try to remember that He is not always trying to give me things to do that I do not want to do. Sometimes, I am sure he is asking me to pursue something that pulls at my heart. Trying to decipher His voice versus mine in the pull is the tough part.
    This chapter helped me because it was talking about her selling her house that she loved and had memories in and not doing it to the fullest. She also spoke of the stresses of trying to keep a house clean with kids sabotaging her (haha) and needing to remember what is really important in all our material hopes, dreams and goals. Your bit about the relationship with the horse was really important too. I have been having to “parent” my 2 year old son more than having as much fun with him as I like as he is trying the tar out of me! As I think about it, perhaps I am acting like a 2 year old trying to get my way, not understanding why I am not and not being obedient to anything or anyone myself. I guess I have a lot to work on.

    • Karen Eklund ;) says:

      Rochelle, I loved your post. I can’t wait to hear about your choices. You sound like you are really searching for the right answers. I will pray that you hear God’s answers.
      Good job for letting God decide if your horse “has to go” or not. That takes a lot of faith. And you are right, churches have lots of opportunities for kids to be exposed to faith. The best example and exposure to faith in God for your family is you. You are making great progress!

  2. Karen Eklund ;) says:

    The story about the house selling amazed me. I KNOW God does what is best for us, I don’t always like the journey. I have never known a time when God was wrong though.
    I am working at being more obedient in my day to day choices. I used to think that I had to “find God’s will for my life” but now I realize God has a bunch of examples in the bible if I would follow them. Things like loving others, being kind, serving others. As I hear God calling me to do the small things, I should develop my heart and ear to hear him when he calls me to do bigger things.

Leave a Reply

