What If Things Get Worse? ~Fear of Global Calamity

boston“You will hear of wars and rumors of wars, but see to it that you are not alarmed.” ~Matthew 24:6 NIV

It seems only a few short days ago, our country was rocked by the bombing that took place during the Boston Marathon. If you watch TV or read the front page of Yahoo, it’s hard not to notice the turmoil our country is in. Our whole world is experiencing the birthing pains that are talked about in this chapter.

“Nation will rise  against nation, and kingdom against kingdom. There will be famines and earthquakes in various places. All these are the beginning of the birth pains.” ~Matthew 24:6-8 NIV

I have not been one that likes discussion on the end times. Although, given our recent turn in history, I sure can’t deny what is happening. What was written in the Bible hundreds of years ago, is coming to pass. Our nation, and those around us, are feeling the tension, pressure, hate, and disconnect that is described in Matthew and in Revelations. Jesus warns us that things are going to get bad. Really bad. But he encourages us not to be alarmed. Not to worry. He’s got this! “These things must come to pass” (Matthew 24:6).  Must is a welcome word that affirms that all events, even the most violent, are under divine plan. Every trial and trouble has a place in God’s scheme. All things big and small, flow out of the purpose of God and serve his good will. When the world appears to be out of control, it isn’t.”  (pg. 159)

Jesus also warns us, “Watch out that no one deceives you. For many will come in my name, claiming “I am the Christ’, and will deceive many”. Max pointed out that those who try to deceive us will come from our very own churches. They will do/say things “in his name”. They may claim special status, and superior spirituality. They may say things like, “God told me….”  “God spoke to me…” or “God led me….” Max reminds us to, “Filter all messages and messengers through these verses: “And who is a liar? Anyone who says that Jesus is no the Christ. Anyone who denies the Father and the Son is an antichrist. Anyone who denies the Son doesn’t have the Father, either.” (1 John 2:22-23 NLT)          (pg. 154-155)

As I laid in bed contemplating this chapter, the warning about deception made me uncomfortable. Deception is the way of the world. We are constantly being bombarded with deceptive headlines, news reports, Facebook posts, and conversation. As I began to question the deception factor, I found myself in the book of Jude. (Jude is a short chapter right before Revelations).  Jude was one of Jesus’ brothers. He wrote this short letter to warn Christians about false teachers. Jude reminded Christians about the truth of God’s salvation and told them to stand up for their faith! There is no better time, than now, for Christians to have courage and stand up for their faith!

Praying woman handsI don’t think that any of us can deny that we are living in the “end times”. Our world is heavy with birth pains and we can see or hear daily scripture being fulfilled. I would be lying if I said the thought of this didn’t frighten me. There is so much evil in the world. I hate the thought of torture and persecution. However, I believe it’s in our daily walk with God that we will find the strength and the foresight to get through whatever is coming. John Wayne said, “Courage is being scared to death, and saddling up anyway.” This is a quote I carry with me when I travel to events. I like how Max put it better though, “Courage is fear that has said its prayers.” Once again, Max points out that through prayer, we can conquer fear.

In your spare time today, I’d like to encourage you to read the chapter of Jude. Look also at 1 John 4:1-21. I’m excited to hear how you view the times we are living in, so please make sure you comment today! Let’s encourage one-another.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What If Things Get Worse? ~Fear of Global Calamity

  1. Sherrie says:

    This chapter would have terrified me a few years ago, but not so much now. I think we are in”birth pains” of the end times. My Faith has gotten stronger and deeper as I’ve gotten older and I will rely on it, and prayer, to see me through. I just hope my children realize the importance of having Faith, and the importance of being true to their Faith in God!

    • Betty says:

      Lisa you so eloquently stated my own thoughts and feelings about the day we are living in.
      I usually am the one encouraging others around me but I have to say lately that I’m feeling a bit shaken. The “business as usual” is no longer. We NEED to press into Jesus holding onto the promises and calling on His matchless name more and more. He has to be our focus and we need to bring every thought into the obedience of Christ. We are more than conquerors and the Bible says we win!! We have access to His grace knowing that we are in the world but not of it. We are citizens of His kingdom first – and His kingdom is right standing with Him, (righteousness) peace and joy.

      • Betty-thank you for your comment! You are so right. I won’t lie-I can’t imagine what’s coming. But I have to have faith that God will protect me and give me strength to deal with whatever comes our way. He promised to never leave us or forsake us! And yes, the end does say WE WIN!

    • Sherri-I think what makes me fearful about this time, is the unknown for my children. It’s hard to think about what they will have to live through. I just try to remember every day to give them back to God. And I pray for their protection and strength. I understand what you mean about them having faith too….

  2. Karen Eklund ;) says:

    The thought of being persecuted and put to death for my faith doesn’t appeal to me – it scares me. When the time comes, I pray that I remember that God will bring me through whatever comes in my life and will fill my mouth with the right words to speak and guide me what to do. Yes, I need to remember that “God’s got this”.

Leave a Reply

