The Shadow of a Doubt~Fear That God Is Not Real

jesus 4“Look at my hands. Look at my feet. You can see that it’s really me. Touch me and make sure that I am not a ghost, because ghosts don’t have bodies, as you see that I do.” As he spoke, he showed them is hands and feet. (pg.142)

I was raised in church. Every Sunday morning, every Sunday night, and every Wednesday night we were in church. As I grew older, I became involved in sports and soon had a job. Church took a back seat and I ventured through life….lost.

Even while I took my little “hiatus”, I never doubted that there was a God. While I definitely felt distanced from him, I always knew he was real. I’d had too many encounters to doubt that. And today, I can say with confidence, that my life wouldn’t be the same without him. I can’t imagine how people live without the daily connection, strength, and grace given by God.

Have you ever doubted if God was real? What (if I can so boldly ask) was going on in your life that caused you to doubt? Why do you believe now that he’s real?  I can’t wait to to hear you’re comments!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Shadow of a Doubt~Fear That God Is Not Real

  1. Karen Eklund ;) says:

    I took my “hiatus” from God after leaving home for college. I was raised catholic and felt bound by the rules of the church. I didn’t have a relationship with God. During the times in my life that I was not in a relationship with God, I was really hoping God didn’t exist, because I didn’t want to pay the price for the wrong things I was doing. It was through the really hard times in my life, that I found my way back to God.
    The other day, a student at our college asked me if I had Jesus in my heart – perhaps he was joking with me, but he got some serious answers. ; ) He said he didn’t attend church and I couldn’t come up with scriptures to tell him why being a part of a church was good for him. I loved pages 146/147 that says “Could the chasm between doubt and faith be spanned with Scripture and fellowship? … Join with other seekers, and make daily walks to Emmaus.” Also page 144 “Christ distributes courage through community; he dissipates doubts through fellowship.” That’s what the church is for – to join with other seekers – to lift each other up.
    Happily, I don’t doubt that God is real – I’m so glad and grateful that he IS real.

    • Karen-great insight! I appreciate so much you sharing! And you know that God put that college student in your path. You may not have had a ton of scripture, but I’m sure the words you said planted a seed. It’s interesting to me. Perhaps if you would have quoted a bunch of scripture, the young man would have quit listening. I really feel like folks want to know about our personal experiences with Christ. It’s one thing to be able to quote a bunch of scripture, (and that’s not bad!!!) but it’s another to share with someone from your heart.

  2. Pat says:

    Karen I can relate to what you are saying. I was raised catholic too, plus my dad was military. So I viewed God as a boss, not a parent or a friend. I knew according to what I had learned in the catholic church that I was in big trouble with God. It was through my best friend that I understood God in a different light. I talk to God all the time, never realized it. I am usually asking for something, but as I have gotten older, I am more thankful.

Leave a Reply

