There’s a Dragon in My Closet

dragon 4A few years ago, Dream Works came out with a movie called, “How To Train Your Dragon”. My youngest son was about 5 years old at the time, and he couldn’t wait to see the movie. There is now a weekly TV series based on the movie, and I must say….I think we could all learn a thing or two about “How To Train Our Dragons”!

This chapter was a little tough for me. After all, we all have Dragons, don’t we? Things that make our heart beat faster with just a single thought. Secrets. Things that make us ashamed, embarrassed, or vulnerable. I really appreciated Max painting the picture of Christ also struggling with some fear in the garden. I’ve never really thought about that. Jesus always came across as so calm, cool, and collected. So strong. I realize he became human, but I guess I’ve never really realized he was truly HUMAN while here on earth. That he REALLY did experience the same feelings and fears that I have. (pg. 81-82)

What came out in this chapter the most to me was Max’s words, “Fight your dragons in Gethsemane’s garden. Those persistent, ugly villans of the heart-talk to God about them.” (pg. 85) A little further down he says, “Be specific about your fears. Identify what “this cup” is and talk to God about it. Putting your worries into words describes them. They look silly standing out there naked.” The words that Max shared from the “Life of Pi” touched my heart also. “You must fight hard to express it. You must fight hard to shine the light of words upon it. Because if you don’t, if your fear becomes a wordless darkness that you avoid, perhaps even manage to forget, you open yourself to further attacks of fear because you never truly fought the opponent who defeated you.” (pg. 86)  “It’s our duty to pull back the curtains, to expose our fears, each and every one. Like vampires, they can’t stand the sunlight. (How about the SONlight?) Financial fears, relationship fears, professional fears, safety fears-call them out in prayer. Drag them out by the hand of your mind, and make them stand before God and take their comeuppance!”

The dragon in the picture-the black one-is called “Night Fury” in the movie my son now knows by heart. It’s dragon 3amazing how in the movie, this dragon comes out at night and is the most feared of all the dragons. Yes, he visits me at night too. My doubts and fears seem to grow in the darkness of my room and make me anxious about the things in my life that make me afraid. If I’m going to start describing the dragon that comes out at night in my life, Night Fury will be the first one I describe! And yes, …..I think this one lives in my closet!

 

dragon 1As we begin to describe and put our dragons into words, we become Dragon Slayers! (How cool is that? ME! A Dragon Slayer!) Max reminds us in this chapter, that in order to deal with our dragons-in order to become a Dragon Slayer-we must PRAY! What did Jesus do when he was afraid-deathly afraid-he PRAYED! Jesus put his fears into words! He described what it was he was afraid of. He even went so far as to ask his friends to pray with him. And the best part of it all, he prayed a SIMPLE prayer.

Do you have a Dragon in your closet? Maybe you’re like me and have more than one! How would you describe the dragons that haunt you? Today, I’d like to encourage you to become the Dragon Slayer that God wants you to be. With HIS help and through PRAYER, you, too, can become a Dragon Slayer and conquer the dragons in your closet!

In the next couple days, I’d really like for you to journal about your dragons. Describe them. Name them. Draw pictures of them! And when you’re done, contact some friends and ask them to pray with you! It’s amazing what happens when we join together in prayer!

dragon 2

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to There’s a Dragon in My Closet

  1. Melinda says:

    This has been my favorite chapter so far. I read it last week and immediately turned the pages back and bookmarked it to read over again this week. I’m still processing all of the information in there and how it relates to my life, as well as the lives of others. My middle son, who is turning 16 soon, still loves “How to Train Your Dragon.” I always think of my horses when I watch it, but perhaps I should look for further meaning in those dragons.

Leave a Reply

