My Child Is In Danger

Family Pictures 12 099When it comes to our children, I think any parent would agree that fear can sometimes be flat out overwhelming. I will never forget the day my daughter was born. A young person myself, I wondered how I would take care of such a beautiful little person. The day my mother left after helping me for a week when my second child was born is still a vivid picture in my mind as well. I cried like a baby as she left, wondering how in the world I could take of two small children, do laundry, cook, and be a good wife. Then the third was born, and then the fourth. My children have been a true blessing from God, and that is something I am very sure of. However, even in my confidence that they are blessing, comes fear of losing of them. Failing them. Not being enough for them.

Perhaps my greatest fear when it comes to my children is the shape our world is now in. I can really work myself up into a tizzy if I sit and wonder if there will be another draft and what would I do if my boys would have to go? I worry about my daughter and the boys she meets at college. What’s so wrong with small town boys from where we live, that I know? I worry about illness, disease, and death. No parent should have to bury a child, and yet, we do. When my children started driving, this fear became especially real!

My youngest sister is currently walking a path with her oldest child and I can’t imagine the fear that she has. How many nights she’s not slept and how the fear that she has runs through her veins like blood. She fears for his future and for his life. She fears what will happen when he leaves rehab. She fears he won’t love her for taking him there. She fears she can’t handle anymore.

Yes, as parents, I suppose fear is something we may feel weekly or even daily. But just as our other fears MUST be turned over to God, so we should turn this fear over too! Did God not give us the child? Does he/she REALLY belong to us? Does God give us things we can’t handle? (if you are shaking your head YES, I see you. I’ve nodded up and down too at times.) “Wise are the parents who regularly give their children back to God”. (pg 58)

Family Pictures 12 084Today left me encourage you. God PROMISED us that he would NEVER leave us or forsake us. I’m sure that same promise carries over to the very child he gave us. He promised to hear our prayers. However, it is our job to PRAY. When I pray for my children, I pray protection over them. I pray for mental, physcial, emotional, and spiritual protection. I pray for direction. For them and for me. I pray that they will love God and seek his will for their lives.  I pray that God will give them strength and wisdom to deal with the world and what is coming for them. I pray that they will make good & Godly decisions. I pray that God will send them friends that will be a good influence in their lives, not bad. I pray for their future spouses too.

Family Pictures 12 019As a parent my greatest tool for parenting and for conquering my fears is PRAYER. “Don’t be afraid. Just have faith…” (Luke 8:49) And I am learning that the greatest way to grow my faith is through prayer.

How do you pray for your children?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My Child Is In Danger

  1. Sheila says:

    When I was a young mother working in the packing house, I had a female coworker whos child was approximately the same age as my youngest daughter. The coworker daughter had extermely bad asthma (sp) (breathing problems). She missed days as work due to taking her daughter to the hospital and such. I asked her one time how she handled all of that and her reply to me was, “She is a child of God, and if he decides to take her I am willingly to let her go. I only have her for a short time to begin with. He gave her to my husband and I to bless us”. I being in early spritual developement did not know what to say to her. I just replied ” Your a very brave women”. I had not thought about her comment until my daughters started making decisions on their own. Then I started praying for my children and the decisions they would make. Especially when they started driving. Then it became apparent to me the impact of her thinking. I am so very glad I started praying for my children when I did, because it helped me through those years. I was able to let go of fear and worry and give it back to God. Thank you Lupe for your spiritual insight. This chapter reminded me of where I was and how I have grown in the faith of God and his many blessing in my life.

  2. Sherrie says:

    I, too, pray for my children daily. I pray for many of the same things that Lisa does. I especially pray for them as they travel to and from school in Manhattan. I KNOW God is watching over them because both have had a SCARY incident involving traveling on I-70. Honestly, the outcome for either one could have been disastrous. God protected both of them from harm, and I am forever grateful!!! Prayer is my “comfort” in life and it becomes more precious as I continue on this journey called Life.

  3. Karen Eklund ;) says:

    I need to pray more for my kids! I am more concerned about their eternal choices than anything else. I remind myself that they were raised to know their choices and hopefully to know the love of Christ, although I don’t know that they have ever had a relationship with Him. I also remind myself that they are really God’s children and somehow, he loves them more than me. Yes, I need to pray more for my kids.
    Having kids also has helped me understand God’s love for me.

  4. a694 says:

    I do pray for my kids–for many of the same things that Lisa mentioned. I probably need to pray for them more! I was watching The Bible on TV the other night and saw the story about Abraham taking his son Isaac to sacrifice him on the mountain. I have head the story many times and I always thought how could anyone do that. What faith–but what if God hadn’t stopped him. He was ready to go through with it. Could I do that? I still struggle with it. But, I really like the thought that our children aren’t really ours. Before they were ours they were his. Even as they are ours, they are still his.

    • Betty says:

      When I pray for my children and grandchildren I pray for God’s kingdom to come and His will to be done in their lives. I ask for Psalm 91 (we call it the insurance policy) to be applied to their lives along with the mind of Christ. I ask that God would make them the head and not the tail, that they would be above and not beneath, the lender and not the borrower. That they would know the love of God, the length, wideth, height and breadth and that they would be rooted and grounded in Him. Then I give them to God for He is able to keep them – He doesn’t have grandkids! I have seen my kids go thru horrendous
      situations and at this time of my life I can look back and say God is faithful and whatever the enemy meant for harm, God has turned it all for good.

Leave a Reply

