Chapter 4-Woe Be Gone….

I don’t know about you, but I know my name could be replaced with the word “Worry” on a weekly basis. Some weeks, it may even be daily.

“Worry awoke at 4:30 a.m. today, struggling with this chapter. It needs to be finished by 5:00 p.m. I pulled the pillow over my head and tried in vain to return to the blissful netherworld of sleep that knows nothing of deadlines or completion dates. But it was too late. The starter’s pistol had fired. An Olympic squad of synapses was racing in my brain, stirring, a wake of adrenaline. So Worry climbed out of bed, dressed, and slipped out of the house into the silent streets and drove to the office. (I walk to the barn!) I grumbled, first about the crowded calendar, next about my poor time management. Worry unlocked the door, turned on the computer, stared at the passage on the monitor and smiled at the first verse; Jesus’ defination of worry;

That is why I tell you not to worry about everyday life-whether you will have enough. (Matt. 6:25 NLT)”

Mr. Luccado did a great job of describing the kind of Worry I am. Could you insert Worry for your name in an example or two that he wrote? (pages 43-45)

I recently called a gentleman I was to do a Cowboy Church Service with. He didn’t answer the phone, but his voicemail did and it said, “Faith begins where Worry ends; Faith ends when Worry begins.”  It’s been several weeks since I’ve talked to John, but that quote has not left my mind. When I find myself in the middle of worry, this quote comes to mind each time. I’m thankful John did not answer his phone that day.

On page 49 Max outlines 8-Worry -Stoppers. All 8 of his Stoppers align with the voicemail I heard on the phone.

1.)  Pray First-“Casting the whole of your care (ALL your anxieties, all your worries, all your concerns, ONCE AND FOR ALL) on Him.” (1 Peter 5:7) AMP

2.) Easy Now! Slow down! “Rest in the Lord, and wait patiently for Him.” (Ps. 37:7) Oh how much easier my life would be if I would just SLOW DOWN and REST in Him!

3.)  Act on it! Be a worry-slapper. Now, I like this! This is a call to action-and I like that! This gives me a reason to act-to do something and at the same time put my worry to rest. “Head of worry before it gets the best of you.”

4.) Compile a Worry List. “Over a period of days record your anxious thoughts. Maintain a list of all the things that trouble you. Then review them. How many turned into reality?” Do you struggle with making your tough circumstances bigger than they are? “Faith begins where Worry ends.”

5.)  Evaluate your worry categories. Pray about the list you created.

6.) Focus on today! I love the statement, “God meets daily needs daily. Not weekly or annually. He will give you what you need when it is needed.” While we are busy worrying about things we usually have no control over, God is ready to take care of our needs in HIS time.

7.)  Unleash a worry army. Invite friends to pray with you and for you! God tells us that where two or more are gathered in his name, he is there also.

8.)  Let God be enough. “Your heavenly Father already knows all your needs. Seek the Kingdom of God above all else, and live righteously, and he will give you everything you need.” (Matt. 6:32-33) NLT. Sometimes I find it hard to simply open my mouth and ask. Sometimes it’s hard to pray and ask for the help I need.

Eight Steps: Pray, first. Easy, now. Act on it. Compile a worry list. Evaluate your worry categories. Focus on today. Unleash a worry army. Let God be enough.

Awww YES! PEACEFUL! Do you feel your Worry starting to subside? Which step speaks to you the loudest?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Chapter 4-Woe Be Gone….

  1. Jennifer Barrett says:

    I’ve been busy with moving into the new house and trying to read as well! Haven’t responded until now and feel I must! This chapter was so good for me right now because I’ve been worrying about everything…the move, getting everything out, getting everything clean, putting away at the new house, paying for everything, working during the day, the weather…you name it and I finally just took a deep breath and said, I’m going to let God help me. It felt like my body lost about 50 pounds! So much lifted off my shoulders and I began to breath easier and was able to focus. Now I can see so much better and can deal with whatever comes my way. I told my husband this and he has also slowed down and relaxed about things. I really needed this!! Thank you!

  2. Sherrie says:

    This chapter was written about me…..the “queen worry-wort” as my husband likes to describe me. I’ve always been a worrier, but as I age, I’m doing a better job of letting God help. I loved the PEACEFUL acronym. I’m writing it on a card and posting it by the bathroom mirror so I see it every morning! Hopefully, I can use what I’ve learned in this chapter to “pass my title” to someone else!

    • kay says:

      Sherrie,

      I too am better known as the worry-wart of the family, lol. I have a tendency to over-think everything to the furtherst, most dramitic relm possible. I’ve gotten a lot better as the kids got older, but for a period of time worry, which created more fear, dominated my life. I had to continuly remind myself to turn it over to God. Now that I know how PEACEFUL that can be for me I dont have to be reminded quit so much before the worry train takes me over the hill.

      Great idea to put the acronym on a card, I think I’ll do that as well.

  3. kareneklund says:

    My favorite step was “Compile a worry list”, or to apply to me more it would be a “fear” list. I have been so scared of so many things that have never happened! I let movies play in my mind of horrible things that have never happened to me and my horse. An example is the film clip of the rider being drug by her horse in what looks like the grand canyon and you can see the lifeless body being drug with her foot in the saddle – it’s a commercial for break away stirrups. Very effective for people like me that can be so scared. Jerry Williams suggested that I tell myself a different story – play a different movie. What a revelation! That gave me so much freedom! I wear a gorgeous helmet now and tell myself what a wonderful ride we’re going to have – and we do!

    I love the quote “Faith begins where Worry ends; Faith ends when Worry begins.” It’s true!

Leave a Reply

